Safeguarding Adults is a multi-agency approach led by local authorities who hold statutory responsibilities under the Care Act (2015). ADM Care Support Limited work in partnership with local agencies involved in Safeguarding Adults arrangements to ensure an integrated approach supporting effective community care support.

ADM Care support staff must comply with procedures applied in the Bristol City Council and other local authority in which the concern arises.

Local procedures for ADM Care Support is similar to key Local Authority partners, but differ in points of detail. ADM Care Support Policy is designed to support staff to comply with safeguarding procedures operating in all the relevant local authority areas.


Adult at risk: a person aged 18 or over who has needs for care and support, regardless of whether those needs are being met, and because of those needs is unable to protect themselves from abuse or neglect (Care Act 2014 s. 42)

Abuse: a violation of an individual’s human and civil rights by any other person or persons. Abuse may consist of a single act or repeated acts. It may be physical, verbal or psychological. It may be an act of neglect or an omission to act, or it may occur when a vulnerable person is persuaded to enter into a financial or sexual transaction to which he or she has not consented, or cannot consent. Abuse can occur in any relationship and may result in significant harm to, or exploitation of, the person subjected to it. Statutory guidance identifies different categories of abuse but notes these are only illustrative and abuse can take many forms. Exploitation is a common theme in different types of abuse

Person(s) alleged to cause harm: A person (or body in the case of alleged organisational abuse or neglect) identified as a possible source of harm to an adult at risk. Safeguarding procedures are primarily designed to prevent or respond to risks from others.

Types and indicators of abuse and neglect

The Care and Support statutory guidance identify types of abuse, but also emphasises that organisations should not limit their view of what constitutes abuse or neglect. The specific circumstances of an individual case should always be considered. The Care Act identifies 10 types of abuse:

  • Physical Abuse
  • Self-Neglect
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Neglect or Acts of Omission
  • Financial or Material Abuse
  • Discriminatory Abuse
  • Psychological and/or emotional abuse
  • Organisational Abuse
  • Modern Slavery
  • Domestic Violence or Abuse

This is not limited to the 10 categories as outlined in the Care Act and supports staff not to limit their view of abuse and neglect.

Roles and Responsibilities

ADM Care Support staff in contact with client have responsibilities under safeguarding adults if abuse is suspected. There is a duty to raise a safeguarding concern and ensuring they are referred on to the local safeguarding referral point. Managers and designated staff have specific responsibilities under the procedures.

Safeguarding Procedures

ADM Care Support Limited will ensure all Safeguarding concerns must be managed in accordance with the safeguarding procedures for the local authority area in which the risk of harm, abuse, neglect or exploitation is alleged to have taken place. Each local procedure demonstrates how the Local Authority meets its statutory duties under the Care Act.